Four Promises I’m Clinging to in 2021

Many of you may not know that in the past I was a youth pastor.  I started ministry at a wonderful church in Russellville, AR called The Refuge, where I had the privilege of being on staff for 4.5 years.  During that time I served as worship pastor and student pastor, and would occasionally preach when given the opportunity.

One thing I learned early on in ministry is that connection is key.  Ministry, just like anything, has its ups and downs.  It is one of the greatest privileges of my life, yet at the same time is the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  Early on in ministry, because I had no idea what I was doing, one of the first things I ever did was begin to meet whoever I could.  I joined Facebook groups and met other ministry leaders at conferences and events.  As much as I could, I tried to connect with other pastors and leaders in the ministry.  Honestly, over the course of the last seven years, these friends are how I’ve survived.

Recently I was mindlessly scrolling through Facebook — yeah, I do it too (and I need to stop) — and I came across a post from a youth pastor Facebook group I’m involved in.  I’m no longer a youth pastor, but these groups really encourage me.  There are some incredible men and women in ministry all across this country.  There was a young student pastor in the group that was working to put some text groups together and encouraging a large group of pastors to read the gospel of John together through the month of January.

I’m a pastor and leader in the church, but I need the accountability to be in the Word just as much as anyone, because I’m also human.  So I decided to join the group.  I’ve been reading a chapter a day of the book of John to start 2021.  And let me just stop right now to encourage you to jump on board!  There’s only 21 chapters.  You still have plenty of time.  There’s still 26 days left in the month!

Anyway, I came across a verse today in chapter 4 that caught my eye.  It always baffles me how some of the most incredible miracles of Jesus can seem so nonchalant in scripture.  Honestly, it makes me laugh often.  Anyway, here’s the passage:

(46) Once more he visited Cana in Galilee, where he had turned the water into wine. And there was a certain royal official whose son lay sick at Capernaum. (47) When this man heard that Jesus had arrived in Galilee from Judea, he went to him and begged him to come and heal his son, who was close to death.

(48) “Unless you people see signs and wonders,” Jesus told him, “you will never believe.

(49) The royal official said, “Sir, come down before my child dies.

And here’s the moment….

(50) “Go,” Jesus replied, “your son will live.” The man took Jesus at his word and departed. (51) While he was still on the way, his servants met him with the news that his boy was living. (52) When he inquired as to the time when his song got better, they said to him, “Yesterday, at one in the afternoon, the fever left him.

(53) Then the father realized that this was the exact time at which Jesus had said to him, ‘Your son will live.’ So he and his whole household believed. // JOHN 4:46-50 (NIV)

I thought this passage was powerful for a few reasons. One being that Jesus healed this man’s son! Who else can do that but God himself? The other was the faith of the man. Verse 50 jumped out at me like I had never seen it before…

The man took Jesus at his word…

Jesus said it.  And he believed it.  That simple.

You know, there are lots of promises in scripture.  And this particular passage got me thinking.  What has Jesus said that I need to take him at his word?  What promises has he given me that I need to trust Him with completely?  Just like that old hymn Tis So Sweet says, just to take Him at His Word.

In response to this thought, I have compiled a list of promises that I am choosing to fully trust Jesus with in 2021.


1. He will build his church.

(18) And I tell you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not overcome it. // MATTHEW 16:18 (NIV)

This is a tough one to trust right now. All over the country, we are hearing reports that churches are dwindling in attendance. People are leaving churches for multiple reasons. Maybe they aren’t attending because they are being cautious about COVID-19. Some have simply gotten out of the habit of attending church regularly because of the way churches have had to pivot in response to the virus and local government restrictions. Other church members are upset with their leaders over political differences in the height of a tension-filled political landscape in our country. Regardless of the reason, angst is very high in the church. Attendance is very difficult to track. Many just want their old normal back. And I get it. Because I do too. However, things are different right now – and they’re going to be a for a bit.

With restrictions on public large gatherings and churches having to pivot, trusting God that he’s going to continue to build his church, nourish his bride, and sustain her health is no easy task. But I’m choosing to trust that He’s faithful to his promise and that it doesn’t depend on me! What a relief. My job is to be faithful to my call, which is to shepherd those that come who are under my care, and to continue reaching out to the relational world that’s around me on a daily basis.


2. He will sustain my soul.

(27) My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. (28) I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. (29) My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. (30) I and the Father are one. // JOHN 10:27-30 (NIV)

I love this passage. What an incredible comfort. If you are in Christ, this is talking about you. You are in the hands of Jesus. Your salvation is secure. You could not do enough good to earn it, and you cannot do enough bad to lose it. You belong to Christ.

The beauty of this is also in the fact that as the good shepherd who will not let you go, Christ is your highest comfort, your highest joy, and your highest protection. In him, you are secure. No one can snatch you from his hands. When you have given your life to Christ, you have the right to get comfortable. Like the joy of plopping down on your couch, you’re home. Rest in that truth. You’re not going to be able to sin enough in 2021 to change it.


3. He will provide for my needs.

(25) Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? (26) Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? (27) Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? // MATTHEW 6:25-27 (NIV)

The year 2020 was a crisis for 75% of the year. Businesses have closed, people have struggled to make ends meet. And worry for finances in the future has been at an all time high. But if we’re being real here, all of us are worried about the economy and the future.

Last year I walked away from a secure job into an unknown future. My wife and I had six weeks to figure out our next steps or we wouldn’t be able to put food on the table. Let’s just be real here – between my wife and I, I’m the worrier. I’m the one that loses sleep under the weight of stress. She has always had the gift of faith and continues to keep me on the right path.

But in that moment in the fall of 2019, we had to decide. Is God our provider or not? Guess what, he is. We put it in his hands. We prayed and we sought his wisdom for our future. And guess what. Since that day, we have not worried about a single bill. I’m not saying this as an unrealistic holier-than-thou testimony to make anyone feel less than, but this is our story. And God saw us through. It was difficult and there were unknowns. But in the present, we always knew we were okay. I believe the same God can do that for you. I believe he will do that for the church. And even now, as I worry about the future and the economy in 2021, I believe God will continue to be our provider. And as the scripture said, can all those worries add a single hour to your life? Nope. They can’t.


4. He will give me greater joy than anything else.

(9) As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. (10) If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept the Father’s commands and remain in his love. (11) I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. // JOHN 15:9-11 (NIV)

Extra family time. Some down time. Stimulus money? Yep. We had it all in 2020. And a lot of it was good. There have definitely been some perks to the quarantine life. I’d trade it in a heartbeat to go to a MLB baseball game next season. Who knows… maybe we’ll get there.

But see that’s the thing. We’ve all idolized normal, I think. I have dreamed about hitting up local MLB parks here in Southern California for baseball games. Something I haven’t had the opportunity to do since moving out here. I have longed to return to restaurants (indoors), movies, among other public places that I’d love to be! However, when we finally do reach this new normal, is it really going to be all that we hope for it to be? I’m starting to believe that when it comes, we will find it underwhelming. Sure, it will be better than what we’ve experienced in quarantine. But if we’re not careful, it will be all too easy to sink right back into the mundane life of the day-to-day routine. It will be all too easy to once again feast on entertainment and a busy schedule.

There will be things to do – concerts, movies, sports, family activities, travel, DISNEYLAND, etc. But may we remember that as fun as those things are, our greatest joy in still found in Christ. The best way for our joy to be complete as the scripture above says is to keep the commandments, to strive for a holy life, and honor God in every moment. Guess what, we can do all of that right now.

As hard as it is to wait for the new normal, what’s holding us back from enjoying the fullness of joy that Jesus offers us right now, even in a quarantine-COVID-19 world?


These are just a few of MANY promises from scripture. May this year be a year that we cling ever tightly to what God promises us in his word. May we be reminded that God is faithful to his Word and that he does not waver from what he has promised. What promises of Jesus do you need to take him at his word? Let me know in the comments below. I’d love to know what God is speaking to you in 2021.

Published by Landen Crouch

My name is Landen Crouch. I am a husband, father, and follower of Christ. I am passionate about Jesus, my family, leadership, and just about all things sports. I am privileged to serve as a Worship Pastor at High Desert Church in Victorville, CA.

Leave a comment